Mashed up Bananas?

Hungry, in a rush, not having that much extra cash to spare for the week and still wanting to maintain a healthy lifestyle.  What is a girl to do?  Well I ransack the fridge like any other normal human being would.  I didn’t have too much in the house but I had bananas, walnuts and peanut butter.  Growing up my mom would mash up this yummy fruit full of potassium and sprinkle some sugar on it. I have to admit not the healthiest of choices but peanut butter was really off the radar for my hispanic mom.  I remember the first time I told her about peanut butter and my mom said, “Mija what do you mean?  You smash peanuts with butter that’s discussing! ”  Totally off the grid.  But as I got older and my friend would share her peanut butter and banana sandwich with me during lunch I realized how yummy and full of protein it was.

alton-brown-homemade-peanut-butter-2

Making your own Peanut Butter :

Ingredients
2 cups of peanuts, shelled and skinned
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons honey
1 1/2 tablespoons peanut oil
Instructions
Combine the peanuts, salt, and honey in a food processor.
Process until smooth adding peanut oil slowly. Scraping the sides when necessary to get all that yumminess as smooth or as crunchy as you want.
Store the peanut butter in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 2 months.
For something lighter and if you are craving something sweet.  You could 
always mash up bananas and add honey!
EP8A0443.jpg
Enjoy!!
xoxo
Dani

Leave a Reply

