Egg time….

As a child I could remember the school morning when my mom was busy getting ready and the smell of soft boiled egg was circling my nose.  Teasing my gag reflexes knowing what was to come.  To say that I disliked eggs was an understatement.  I despised them!  Those mornings when eggs were on the morning menu I took a little longer getting ready, procrastinating the inevitable scolding that my mom always did when I ate anything I didn’t like.

But now as I’ve gotten older I took a great liking to this odd food.  I remember watching Runaway Bride when Maggie makes all different types of eggs and finally decides that eggs benedict is her favorite!  So I went on a similar adventure, testing and retesting to see if I truly didn’t like these guys.  What I found was that I liked soft boiled eggs but not because of the taste.  But for the memory that is associated with that particular egg type.  The memory of my mom scolding me and ALWAYS finding a shell piece in which ever way she cooked her eggs.  Those are the things that make me smile now looking back on those mornings. 

What You Need

Ingredients

1 – 4 large eggs (if cooking more eggs, work in batches)

Equipment

Saucepan
Slotted Spoon

Instructions

1. Fill a saucepan about halfway with water and bring it to a boil.

2. Decrease the temperature so that the water reduces to a rapid simmer and gently lower the eggs into the water one at a time.

3. Cook the eggs for 5-7 minutes: 5 minutes for a yolk that is still runny and 7 minutes for a yolk that is barely set.

4. Drain the eggs and run them under cold tap water for 30 seconds

 

 

Leave a Reply

